About French Polynesia

The Islands of Tahiti

      Offering rental cars worldwide that are fast and easy to book with great rates!

Tahiti. The word evokes visions of an island paradise. With 118 islands (grouped into five archipelagoes (4 volcanic, 1 coral) boasting high, rugged mountain peaks, coral reefs, turquoise-blue lagoons, white sand, palm-fringed beaches, and luxuriously intimate resorts, each island paradise has something for everyone. Bora Bora, Moorea, Huahine, Taha'a, Raiatea, Manihi, Tikehau, Rangiroa, Fakarava, The Marquesas and the other exquisite Islands of Tahiti cover more than two million square miles of the South Pacific Ocean and is comprised of 118 islands and atolls spread over five great archipelagos.
Many islands are crowned with jagged peaks while others appear to barely float above the breaking waves. Spanning an area in the South Pacific as large as Western Europe.

Easier to travel to than you might imagine, Tahiti's Faa'a International Airport is under 8 hours by air from Los Angeles (LAX) airport, with daily nonstop flights. As far south of the equator as Hawaii is north, Tahiti is halfway between California and Australia, on the same side of the International Date Line as North America, and in the same time zone as Hawaii ;

Getting around the islands requires flying on Air Tahiti, the country's only domestic airline. All the islands are small and require no more than a day or two to see the sights but add more if you want to melt into the pace of island life. The best time to visit is the cooler dry season months of May to October, which also fall outside the cyclone season.